Cine Outsider header
front page    disc reviews      film reviews    articles    interviews  
Noir thriller Odds Against Tomorrow on dual format in October
Ed Begley, Harry Belafonte and Robert Ryan star in Odds Against Tomorrow, a 1959 noir suspense story directed by Robert Wise, which comes to UK dual format in October as part of the BFI's Blackstar project.
review archive
Older news stories have been archived by year and month, most recent first. They can be accessed by clicking on the links below.
2018 2017 2016
2015 2014 2013
2012 2011 2010
2009 2008 2007
2006 2005 2004
Quay Brothers: The Collected Animated Films on Blu-ray in October

23 September 2016

Since the late 1970s, the identical twin Quay Brothers have made a unique contribution to animation in general and the puppet film in particular. Filtering arcane visual, literary, musical, cinematic and philosophical influences through their own utterly distinctive sensibility, each Quay film rivets the attention through hypnotic control of décor, camera, lighting, music and movement, evoking half-remembered dreams, fascinating and yet deeply unsettling in turn.

In October, the BFI will release on Blu-ray a comprehensive two-disc set that brings together the Quay Brothers' truly unique films, spanning a total of 37 years. Inner Sanctums – Quay Brothers: The Collected Animated Films 1979-2013 contains twenty-four films – with three UK premieres and five world premieres and also includes a new short documentary, Quay (2015) by Christopher Nolan.

The films:

  • Nocturna Artificialia (1979)
  • The Cabinet of Jan Švankmajer (1984)
  • This Unnameable Little Broom (1985)
  • Street of Crocodiles (1986)
  • Rehearsals for Extinct Anatomies (1988)
  • Stille Nacht I: Dramolet (1988)
  • Ex-Voto (1989)
  • The Comb (1990)
  • Anamorphosis (1991)
  • The Calligrapher (Parts I, II, III) (1991)
  • Stille Nacht II: Are We Still Married? (1992)
  • Stille Nacht III: Tales from Vienna Woods (1993)
  • Stille Nacht IV: Can't Go Wrong Without You (1994)
  • In Absentia (2000)
  • The Phantom Museum (2003)
  • Songs for Dead Children (2003)
  • Eurydice, She So Beloved (2007)
  • Alice in Not so Wonderland (2007)
  • Kinoteka Ident (2008)
  • Inventorium of Traces (2009)
  • Wonderwood for Comme des Garçons (2010)
  • Maska (2010)
  • Through the Weeping Glass (2011)
  • Unmistaken Hands: Ex Voto F.H. (2013)

Inner Sanctums – Quay Brothers: The Collected Animated Films 1979-2013 will be released on Blu-ray as a 2-disc set by the BFI on 10th October 2016 at the RRP of £24,99.

Special features:

  • Introduction by the Quay Brothers (2006, 20 mins)

  • Quay (2015, 8 mins): a film by Christopher Nolan

  • Quay Brothers audio commentaries for This Unnameable Little Broom, Street of Crocodiles, Stille Nacht I-III and In Absentia

  • The Falls [excerpt] (1980, 5 mins)

  • BFI Distribution ident (1991, 30 secs)

  • The Summit (1995, 12 mins)

  • No Bones About It: Quay Brothers (2010, 12 mins)

  • Behind the Scenes with the Quay Brothers (2013, 31 mins)

  • Unmistaken Hands: Ex Voto F.H. trailer (2 mins)

  • Extensive booklet containing Michael Brooke’s ‘A Quays Dictionary’ (updated) and the 2013 dialogue ‘On Deciphering the Pharmacist's Presсriptiоn fοr Lip-Reading Puppеts’

You can read out review of the BFI DVD set The Quay Brothers Short Films 1979-2003 here.